8th Annual Research Day held

The 8th Annual Research day was held on the 10th and 11th of October, 2017, as a two-day event for the first time.

This year, there were over 270 abstracts of which 122 were slotted for podium presentations and another 150, as posters. The abstracts were categorised under various heads including Medical Specialities, Surgical Specialities, Allied Health Sciences, Basic Sciences, Medical Students, Nursing, Field and Epidemiology, Bioengineering and PhD.

The highlight of the evening programme was the Special Orations by the chief guests who were two distinguished, retired faculty members of CMC Vellore - Professor A. S. Balasubramaniam, former Head of Neurochemistry and Professor B. S. Ramakrishna, former Head of Gastroenterology.

The citations for the chief guests were read by Dr. Biju George, Addl. Vice Principal (Research), and the chief guests were felicitated by Dr. C. E. Eapen, Dr. Sitara Swarna Rao, Principal Dr. Anna B. Pulimood, Dr. Ebby George Simon, Dr. Mathew Alexander and Dr. Ari George Chacko.





The Shubhanker Mitra Memorial Award for the Best Undergraduate Presentation for Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Sciences respectively were given by Dr. Pulimood to Ms. Annsmol P. Markose and Mr. Abhijit Goyal, Ms. Prescilla S. and Ms. Shalin Arambhan.

For the second consecutive year, the Department of Endocrinology emerged as the

overall winners and were presented the Rolling Trophy. Individually, there were 86 prize winners among those who presented at the podium as well as those who put up posters.

